rail_green RTD’s Northwest Rail (B Line)

Commuter rail cars that will travel Northwest Rail in 2016.Northwest Rail is 41 miles of commuter rail that, once complete, will travel from Denver Union Station to Longmont, passing through North Denver, Adams County, Westminster, Broomfield, Louisville, Boulder and Boulder County.

The first segment of the Northwest Rail, the B Line, opened July 25, 2016. The new line is 6.2 miles of electric commuter rail from Denver Union Station to Westminster Station at 71st and Lowell, with a total travel time of 11 minutes. The 350-spot parking garage, plaza areas, regional park and transit-oriented private development is being built and funded by the City of Westminster. The train platform, trackway and overpower power system is all being constructed by RTD’s contractor, Denver Transit Partners.

The B Line to Westminster is part of the Eagle P3 project, the nation’s first full public-private partnership for transit. The $2.2 billion project is made up of local RTD taxes combined with a $1.03 billion federal grant and $450 million from Denver Transit Partners, the 34-year concessionaire that will build, operate and maintain the trains. The Eagle P3 project includes the University of Colorado A Line to the Denver International Airport, opening April 22 and the Gold (G) Line through Arvada and Wheat Ridge, opening in the fall of 2016, as well as a new commuter rail maintenance facility.

Other Resources: